You can still make a difference!

HB 40 has passed the House but all hope is not lost. It still has to be reconciled with the Senate version of the bill. So, it is time to apply pressure on the Senate. It’s probably best not to ask them to oppose the bill at this point (unless you know that they already oppose the bill), but to add amendments to it that further protect local control for health and safety reasons.

A key talking point here in the wake of the recent studies definitively linking injection/disposal wells to earthquakes: Request that the bill explicitly grant local governments the right to control injection wells. Local communities are the ones exposed to the risks of earthquakes and so should be the ones empowered to decide whether those risks are acceptable or not.

Here is a list of the TX Senators. Contact them all, but if you only have time to contact a few, make it Jane Nelson (Senator for areas impacted by earthquakes), Craig Estes (Senator for much of the Denton area), and Troy Fraser (Chair of the Senate Committee on Natural Resources and Economic Development where the bill is now being considered). Here is all the contact info:


Senator Paul Bettencourt 512-463-0107
Senator Brian Birdwell 512-463-0122
Senator Konni Burton 512-463-0110
Senator Donna Campbell 512-463-0125
Senator Brandon Creighton 512-463-0104
Senator Rodney Ellis 512-463-0113
Senator Kevin Eltife 512-463-0101
Senator Craig Estes 512-463-0130
Senator Troy Fraser 512-463-0124
Senator Sylvia Garcia 512-463-0106
Senator Bob Hall 512-463-0102
Senator Kelly Hancock 512-463-0109
Senator Juan “Chuy” Hinojosa 512-463-0120
Senator Don Huffines 512-463-0116
Senator Joan Huffman 512-463-0117
Senator Lois Kolkhorst 512-463-0118
Senator Eddie Lucio 512-463-0127
Senator Jose Menendez 512-463-0126
Senator Jane Nelson 512-463-0112
Senator Robert Nichols 512-463-0103
Senator Charles Perry 512-463-0128
Senator José Rodríguez 512-463-0129
Senator Charles Schwertner 512-463-0105
Senator Kel Seliger 512-463-0131
Senator Larry Taylor 512-463-0111
Senator Van Taylor 512-463-0108
Senator Carlos Uresti 512-463-0119
Senator Kirk Watson 512-463-0114
Senator Royce West 512-463-0123
Senator John Whitmire 512-463-0115
Senator Judith Zaffirini 512-463-0121